One of the most charming places in Ontario, NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE ,
26km downstream from the Falls, boasts lines of elegant clapboard houses
surrounded by well-kept gardens, all spread along tree-lined streets.
The town, much of which dates from the early nineteenth century, was
originally known as Newark and became the first capital of Upper Canada
in 1792. But four years later it lost this distinction to York (Toronto)
because of its proximity to the frontier - a wise decision, for the
Americans crossed the river and destroyed Niagara-on-the-Lake in 1813.
The town was rebuilt (and renamed) immediately afterwards, and has
managed to avoid all but the most sympathetic of modifications ever
since. This period charm attracts a few too many day-trippers (and
souvenir shops) for the town's own good, but the crowds are rarely
oppressive, except on weekends in July and August.